Research Grants

Memorial Funds Grants Program

The Colorado Scientific Society invites junior and senior undergraduates and graduate students in Master’s and Ph.D. programs at accredited colleges and universities to apply for research grants to be awarded in late April, 2017. Several grants ranging from $600 to $1000 each will be awarded for field-oriented research on geology, geochemistry, and geophysics on the Rocky Mountain region. In addition, grants as large as $600 are awarded for engineering geology research (with no restriction on geographic area of interest) and one or more grants for as much as $1200 is offered for studies on the Heart Mountain fault in northwestern Wyoming or for Quaternary studies with no geographic restriction.

Applications should be submitted via email.

E-mail applications consist of the Grant Application Form (MSWord .docx format) and the Appraisal of Applicant (MSWord .docx format) as attachments to e-mails sent to:

Peter Barkmann:

In email subject line, put “CSS 2017 Grant application”; or ‘letter for CSS grant applicant”

DEADLINE:  E-mail applications must be received by March 31, 2017.

Since 1984, the Colorado Scientific Society has established six memorial funds that are supported by the gifts of members and friends, including the Ogden Tweto Fund (established 1984), the Steven Oriel Fund (established 1986), the Edwin Eckel Fund (established 1990), the Bill Pierce Fund (established 1994), and the George Snyder Fund (established 1998). Income from the funds is provided to graduate students to support research in earth sciences. Since 1996, the Society has awarded grants that total between about $8,000 and $11,000 each year. In addition, the Charles Pillmore Fund (established 2004) supports student participation on Society field trips.

Since the inception of the Memorial Fund grants, the Society has helped support the graduate research of over 200 students, awarding more than $160,000 (an average of almost $800 per grant).





MSWord .docx

MSWord .docx


Research grants awarded in

  • 2000
  • 2001
  • 2002
  • 2003
  • 2004
  • Colorado Scientific Society has continued to distribute these grants every year to the present.